Halal Foods

Halal Food Processing

Moin Group aims to set-up state of the art export oriented Halal food processing plants as joint collaboration with Korean investors in Bangladesh. Export processing zones and other business hubs in Bangladesh are ready and inviting investors to invest in this areas.

Halal Food List

Grain Products

Halal Foods (Permitted Foods)

✓ Rice
✓ Pasta
✓ Any grain product, such as bread, breakfast cereal or baked goods prepared without Haram ingredients

Not Halal Foods (Not Permitted)

✗ Any grain products prepared with Haram ingredients such as alcohol, animal shortening, lard or pure and artificial vanilla extract (see page 4)

Vegetables and Fruit

Halal Foods (Permitted Foods)

✓ All vegetables and fruit: raw, dried, frozen or canned.
✓ All vegetables and fruit cooked or served with water, butter, or vegetable oils
✓ All juices

Not Halal Foods (Not Permitted)

✗ Any vegetables and fruit prepared with alcohol, animal shortening, bacon, gelatin, lard or some margarines which contain monoglycerides or diglycerides from an animal source

Milk and Milk Products

Halal Foods (Permitted Foods)

✓ Milk
✓ Yogourt, cheese and ice cream made with bacterial culture or microbial enzymes, e.g. microbial rennet

Not Halal Foods (Not Permitted)

✗ Cheese, yogourt, ice cream, frozen tofu desserts made with animal rennet, gelatin, lipase, pepsin, pure or artificial vanilla extract or whey

Meat and Alternatives

Halal Foods (Permitted Foods)

✓ Meat and poultry slaughtered according to Islamic dietary law (Zabihah)
✓ Seafood
✓ Eggs
✓ Nuts, seeds
✓ Peanut butter
✓ Tofu
✓ Halal deli meats
✓ Dried beans, peas and lentils

Not Halal Foods (Not Permitted)

✗ Pork and pork products, e.g. bacon, deli meats, ham and sausage
✗ Meat and poultry not slaughtered according to Islamic dietary law
✗ Canned beans, peas and lentils containing pork
✗ Any meat and meat alternative dish prepared with alcohol, pork products or animal shortening

Other

Halal Foods (Permitted Foods)

✓ Beverages: carbonated drinks, fruit juice, punch, cocktails, tea and coffee
✓ Fats and oils: butter, margarine, mayonnaise, vegetable oils and some salad dressings
✓ Miscellaneous: chutneys, coconut milk, jam, pickles, spices
✓ Desserts made with agar and/or carrageenan base only
✓ Sweeteners: honey, sugar, syrup, chocolate liquor (roasted ground cocoa bean syrup)

Not Halal Foods (Not Permitted)

✗ Beverages: beer, wine, alcohol, liqueur
✗ Fats and oils: animal shortening, lard
✗ Miscellaneous: chocolates/candies made with alcohol or pure or artificial vanilla extract
✗ Desserts made with gelatin
✗ Sweeteners: chocolate liqueur (made from alcohol)